Adjunct Faculty

Tim Birt
Department of Biology, Queen's University
Email: birtt@queensu.ca
Telephone: 613.533.6000 x75539

Linda Campbell
Senior Research Fellow
Environmental Studies, Saint Mary's University
Email: linda.campbell.smu@gmail.com
Website

John M. Casselman
Department of Biology, Queen's University
Email: casselmj@queensu.ca
Telephone: 613.533.6000 x75371

Peter deGroot
Department of Biology, Queen's University
Email: degrootp@queensu.ca

Marianne S.V. Douglas
Email: msvdouglas@gmail.com

Ken Frank
Ocean Sciences Division, Department of Fisheries & Oceans Canada
Email: Kenneth.frank@dfo-mpo.cg.ca
Telephone: 902.426.3498

Tony Gaston
Emeritus Research Scientist, Environment Canada
Email:  Tony.gaston@ec.gc.ca
Telephone:  613.998.9662

Michael Greenwood
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering​
Royal Military College of Canada
Email: michael.greenwood@rmc.ca
Telephone: 613.541.6000 x3575

Steve Hunt
QUBIT Systems Inc., Kingston, Ontario
Email: steve@qubitsystems.com
Website

Ceredwyn Hill 
Adjunct Associate Professor
Department of Biology, Queen's University
Email: hillc@queensu.ca
Telephone: 613.533.6000 x78665

Tim B. Johnson
Great Lakes Research Scientist 
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry, Picton, Ontario
Email: tim.johnson@ontario.ca
Telephone: 613.476.7718

Olga Kukal
CryoStasis Ltd.
Email: ok@tolgacold.com
Telephone: 613.273.7791

Joshua Kurek
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography and Environment, Mount Allison University
Email: jkurek@mta.ca
Website
Telephone: 506.364.2390

Nick E. Mandrak
Associate Professor
Department of Biological Sciences, University of Toronto Scarborough
Email: nicholas.mandrak@utoronto.ca
Website
Telephone: 416.208.2248

Marc Mazerolle
Professor
Centre d'etude de la foret UQAT, Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec
Email: marc.mazerolle@uqat.ca
Website
Telephone:  819.762.0971 x2458

Isabel Molina
Assistant Professor
Department of Biology, Algoma University

Email: isabel.molina@algomau.ca
Website
Telephone: 705.949.2301 x1078

Laura Nagel
Department of Biology, Queen's University
Email: nagell@queensu.ca
Website
Telephone: 613.545.6000 x7437

Joe Nocera
Ontario Ministry of Environment and Climate Change, Trent University, Peterborough, Ontario 
Email: joe.nocera@ontario.ca
Website
Telephone: 705.755.5220

Andrew Paterson
Ontario Ministry of Environment and Climate Change, Dorset, Ontario
Email: andrew.paterson@ene.gov.on.ca
Website
Telephone: 705.766.2951

Mark Ridgway
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry, Peterborough, ON
Email: mark.ridgway@ontario.ca
Website
Telephone: 705.755.1550

Jim Rusak 
Ontario Ministry of Environment and Climate Change, Dorset, Ontario
Email: Jim.Rusak@ontario.ca
Website
Telephone:  705.766.0659

Brandon Schamp 
Associate Professor
Department of Biology/Chemistry, Algoma University

Email: brandon.schamp@algomau.ca
Website
Telephone: 705.949.2301 x4358

Daniel Selbie
Cultus Lake Salmon Research Laboratory, Department of Fisheries & Oceans Canada
Email: Daniel.Selbi@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Website
Telephone: 604.824.4702

Tom Stewart 
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Glenora Fisheries Station, Picton, Ontario
Email: tom.stewart@ontario.ca

Helen Tai
Research Scientist
Potato Research Centre, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada

Email: helen.tai@agr.gc.ca
Website
Telephone: 506.460.4519

Barb Zeeb
Professor
Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Royal Military College of Canada
 
Email: zeeb-b@rmc.ca
Website
Telephone: 613.541.5000 x6713

I've spent more time than many will believe [making microscopic observations], but I've done them with joy, and I've taken no notice those who have said why take so much trouble and what good is it?

Antonie van Leeuwenhoek

It's a parts list... If I gave you the parts list for the Boeing 777 and it had 100,000 parts, I don't think you could screw it together and you certainly wouldn't understand why it flew

Eric Lander

What is true for E. coli is also true for the elephant

Jacques Monod

The world becomes full of organisms that have what it takes to become ancestors. That, in a sentence, is Darwinism

Richard Dawkins

Shall we conjecture that one and the same kind of living filaments is and has been the cause of all organic life?

Erasmus Darwin

Nature proceeds little by little from things lifeless to animal life in such a way that it's impossible to determine the line of demarcation

Aristotle

Cells let us walk, talk, think, make love, and realize the bath water is cold

Lorraine Lee Cudmore

In the distant future I see open fields for far more important researches. Psychology will be based on a new foundation, that of the necessary acquirement of each mental power and capacity by gradation. Light will be thrown on the origin of man and his history

Charles Darwin

It is my belief that the basic knowledge that we're providing to the world will have a profound impact on the human condition and the treatments for disease and our view of our place on the biological continuum

J. Craig Venter

Imagine a house coming together spontaneously from all the information contained in the bricks: that is how animal bodies are made

Neil Shubin

A grain in the balance will determine which individual shall live and which shall die - which variety or species shall increase in number, and which shall decrease, or finally become extinct

Charles Darwin

The stuff of life turned out to be not a quivering, glowing, wondrous gel but a contraption of tiny jigs, springs, hinges, rods, sheets, magnets, zippers, and trapdoors, assembled by a data tape whose information is copied, downloaded and scanned

Steven Pinker

We wish to discuss a structure for the salt of deoxyribose nucleic acid. (D.N.A.). This structure has novel features which are of considerable biologic interest

Rosalind Franklin

We are biology. We are reminded of this at the beginning and the end, at birth and at death. In between we do what we can to forget

Mary Roach

The systems approach to biology will be the dominant theme in medicine

Leroy Hood

I've always been interested in animal behavior, and I keep reading about it because it's so surprising all the time - so many things are happening around us that we neglect to look at. Part of the passion I have for biology is based on this wonderment"

Isabella Rossellini

Because all of biology is connected, one can often make a breakthrough with an organism that exaggerates a particular phenomenon, and later explore the generality

Thomas Cech

Nothing in Biology makes sense except in the light of evolution

Theodosius Dobzhansky

Biology is now bigger than physics, as measured by the size of budgets, by the size of the workforce, or by the output of major discoveries; and biology is likely to remain the biggest part of science through the twenty-first century

- Freeman Dyson

Nothing can be more incorrect than the assumption one sometimes meets with, that physics has one method, chemistry another, and biology a third

- Thomas Huxley